Open book pages

English Department

  • English teachers at Essex High School believe in the power of literacy.

    EHS English courses focus on critical reading of literary and informational texts, effective writing and speaking skills, as well as vocabulary development.

    In selecting courses, students should consider their interests, abilities, and plans for the future.

    Some course titles include level designations related to the rigor of the course:

    • 300 level (also referred to as AP, Honors, or Advanced) courses are designed for students who have demonstrated exceptional ability in the subject matter.
    • 200 level courses are designed for students who have demonstrated a high performance record in the subject matter.
    • 100 level courses are designed to help students meet course proficiencies and graduation requirements.  
    • Courses with no level assigned are open to students who have taken any indicated prerequisites.
Teacher Name Email Telephone Extension
Owen Charron ccharron@ewsd.org 7155
Linda Cloutier-Namdar lcloutiernamdar@ewsd.org 7184
John Ferris jferris@ewsd.org 7150
Kathleen Frisbie kfrisbie@ewsd.org 7183
Heather Garrow hgarrow@ewsd.org 7162
Laban Hill lhill@ewsd.org 7172
Erin Kranichfeld EKranichfeld@ewsd.org 7171
Jennifer letourneau jletorneau@ewsd.org 7157
James Murphy Jmurphy@ewsd.org 7186
Adam Murray amurray@ewsd.org 7188
William O'Neil woneil@ewsd.org 7185
Kathrine Sullivan ksullivan@ewsd.org 7156