Essex High School - World Languages

European village
  • EHS students are required to complete one year of a World Language in order to graduate. Currently most colleges and universities require or highly recommend a multi-year, same-language sequence of study for admission. Consequently many EHS students take multiple years of one or more languages. The languages offered at EHS are French, Spanish, and Japanese. EHS World Languages courses focus on interpersonal, presentational, and interpretive communication through literature, music, film, media, and the study of cultures related to the target languages. Students are encouraged to participate in linguistic and cultural exchanges. Students with pre-existing language skills may contact the World Languages office to schedule an appointment with a teacher of that language to discuss proper level of placement for the student.

Teacher Name Classes Email Address Phone Extension
Ashly Bry SPANISH I
SPANISH III
abry@ewsd.org 7306
Yukari Dougherty JAPANESE I
JAPANESE II
ymuramoto@ewsd.org 7308
Reina Guarnacci SPANISH I
SPANISH III
rguarnacci@ewsd.org 7304
Beth O'Connor SPANISH II
SPANISH IV
hoconnor@ewsd.org 7307
Maddy Posig FRENCH I
FRENCH II
mposig@ewsd.org 7793
Jill Prado FRENCH III
ADVANCED FRENCH
CONVERSATION AND CULTURE
jprado@ewsd.org 7599
Renee Seyller FRENCH II
FRENCH III
rseyller@ewsd.org 7303
Deborah Stark FRENCH II
FRENCH IV
dstark@ewsd.org 7301
Laura Williams SPANISH IV
SPANISH V
AP SPANISH LANGUAGE IV
lwilliams@ewsd.org 7309