Essex High School - Mathematics

Geometric shape over water
  • The Mathematics team at Essex High School strives to offer a variety of courses to provide a solid foundation for all students. Throughout each Mathematics course at Essex High School, teachers will reinforce the following eight mathematical practices in order to develop logical and critical thinking skills, which will enhance students’ problem solving, modeling and investigative abilities. 
    • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
    • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
    • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
    • Model with mathematics.
    • Use appropriate tools strategically.
    • Attend to precision.
    • Look for and make use of structure.
    • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

    Most students follow the sequence of Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II to prepare for College Entrance examinations (ACT and SAT) during Grade 11. A new semester course in probability and statistics is being added this year in response to the increased focus on this field of study and on standardized tests including SBAC and the new SAT test (starting in 2016). In addition to the sequence of courses mentioned above, it is recommended that all students take a course in probability and statistics. 

    Some course titles include level designations related to the rigor of the course:
    • 300 level (also referred to as AP, Honors, or Advanced) courses are for students who have demonstrated exceptional ability in and a love for the subject matter. 
    • 200 level courses are for students who have demonstrated a high performance record in the subject matter and who will benefit from courses that have a rigorous curriculum and challenging pace. 
    • 100 level courses are for students who may choose not to continue the study of the subject matter after having met their graduation requirements.
    • Courses with no level assigned are open to students who have taken any indicated prerequisites.

    Historically, students not receiving teacher recommendations have not been successful when moving on to the next course. It is recommended that students earn a grade of 80 or better to move from one 100 level course to the subsequent 100 level course. It is recommended that students earn a grade of 85 or better to move from one 200 level course to the subsequent 200 level course. It is recommended that students earn a grade of 90 or better to move from a 100 level course to the subsequent 200 level course.

Teacher Name Classes Email address Phone Extension From the Teacher
Stacie Anthony ALGEBRA I with lab 100
AP STATISTICS 300
santhony@ewsd.org 7214 google doc here
Tammy Gilbert ALGEBRA I with lab 100
PRE-CALCULUS 200
tgilbert@ewsd.org 7218
Michael Gilbert ALGEBRA I with lab 100
GEOMETRY 200
PRE-CALCULUS 200
mgilbert@ewsd.org 7217
Eric Langevin AP COMPUTER SCIENCE A 300
GEOMETRY 200
PRE-ALGEBRA 100
elangevin@ewsd.org 7214
Tom NcConnell MATH OF FINANCIAL LITERACY
PRE-CALCULUS 200
tmcconnell@ewsd.org 7227
Kristin McNamara ALGEBRA I with lab 100
ALGEBRA II 200
HONORS PRE-CALCULUS 300
kmcnamara@ewsd.org 7220
Justin Norris MATH OF FINANCIAL LITERACY jnorris@ewsd.org 7226
Jake Orr ALGEBRA II 100
ALGEBRA II 200
GEOMETRY 100
jorr@ewsd.org 7223
Art Pellerin ALGEBRA I 200
ALGEBRA II 100
ALGEBRA II HONORS 300
AP CALCULUS (BC) HONORS 300
apellerin@ewsd.org 7215
David Rome AP CALCULUS (AB) 300
GEOMETRY 200
drome@ewsd.org 7219
Heather Sawyer ALGEBRA I 200
GEOMETRY 100
PRE-ALGEBRA 100
hswayer@ewsd.org 7224
Lee Ann Smith ALGEBRA I 200
CALCULUS 200
STEM INTERNSHIP
lsmith@ewsd.org 7213
Sarah Toof ALGEBRA II 100
GEOMETRY 200
stoof@ewsd.org 7221
Lindsay Vanoli ALGEBRA I 200
ALGEBRA II 200
GEOMETRY 100
lvanoli@ewsd.org 7225