Essex High School - World Languages

European village
  • EHS students are required to complete one year of a World Language in order to graduate. Currently most colleges and universities require or highly recommend a multi-year, same-language sequence of study for admission. Consequently many EHS students take multiple years of one or more languages. The languages offered at EHS are French, Spanish, and Japanese. EHS World Languages courses focus on interpersonal, presentational, and interpretive communication through literature, music, film, media, and the study of cultures related to the target languages. Students are encouraged to participate in linguistic and cultural exchanges. Students with pre-existing language skills may contact the World Languages office to schedule an appointment with a teacher of that language to discuss proper level of placement for the student.

Teacher Name Classes Email Address Phone Extension
Ashley Bry Spanish II
Spanish IV
abry@ewsd.org 7306
Claire Ryan French I cryan@ewsd.org 7913
Colleen Birner Spanish II
Spanish III
cbirner@ewsd.org 7598
Deborah Alden French IV dalden@ewsd.org 7303
Deborah Stark French II
French III
dstark@ewsd.org 7301
Jennifer Luck Spanish III
Spanish IV
jluck@ewsd.org 7305
Jill Prado French IV
Advanced French
Conversation and Culture V
jprado@ewsd.org 7599
Laura Williams Spanish I
Spanish V
AP Spanish Language VI
lwilliams@ewsd.org 7309
Liz Kessler Spanish I
Spanish II
lkessler@ewsd.org 7307
Yukari Dougherty Japanese I
Japanese II
ymuramoto@ewsd.org 7308