Return to Headlines

Carter Honored as a UVM Teacher of the Year

August 30, 2019
ESSEX JUNCTION, Vt. - The Essex Westford School District kicked off the 2019-2020 school year on Monday, August 26 with a welcome back event for all teachers and staff. As part of the morning session, three EWSD instructors were honored by being named one of the University of Vermont Outstanding Teachers of the Year. The three recipients were Cassidy Shumway (EWSD K-8 Teacher of the Year from Westford), Ashley Hanlon (EWSD Secondary Level Teacher of the Year from Essex High School), and Dave Carter (EWSD Technical Center Teacher of the Year from the Center for Technology, Essex). 

Every year, the College of Education and Social Services (CESS) at UVM, together with Vermont supervisory unions and school districts, the Vermont Agency of Education, and the Vermont NEA, join to honor the accomplishments of our state’s outstanding educators. 

A kindergarten teacher in Westford, Shumway describes her students as a community of collectors based on their passions and interests and she wove that into her teaching. She celebrates and embraces the beauty of each child and who they are individually and for their role in their classroom community. 

Hanlon is a special educator at EHS who strives for excellence in education, nurtures students, and supports her colleagues. She develops engaging projects and lessons which apply real-world content and knowledge to the standard learning targets in a non-threatening learning environment with a caring and genuine disposition. 

When one enters Carter’s Pre Tech classroom during instructional time, they would be struck by the culture of mutual respect and curiosity that has been established for the class. He has established a safe learning environment for students from different backgrounds with varied strengths, while at the same time providing rigorous, accessible learning opportunities.

The 39th Annual Outstanding Teachers Day will take place on October 9, 2019, at the Dudley H. Davis Center. Outstanding teachers and their principals will be invited.